Evolve Your Ideas in Three Steps

“I have an idea, but I don’t know where to start…” Does this sound familiar? Throughout the day I get a lot of ideas, but I don’t know where to start.

Here are a few steps that can help you evolve your idea from just a thought into a plan of action.

  1. Write it down. Chances are the idea you have is really good, why not write it down to remember it later.
  2. Set a start or end date. When I have a “due” date, I am usually scrambling a few days prior to get it done. But guess what? It gets done. Some people work better with projected starting dates. Try either method that will help you start evolving the idea.
  3. Once the parameters are set, now what? If it’s something I know someone has done before, I will reach out to him or her to gain insight. If it is something I am not sure who has done something like this before, I check out Pinterest.com

Evolve Your Ideas in Three Steps

 

What is Pinterest? Think of a message board that is made out of cork. You pin reminders and other clippings on it. Now, think of it as a virtual message board with multiple purposes. I have a “board” for cooking, advertising, blogging, green love, and marine clippings or “pins”.

How can Pinterest help me? When you sign up, you can browse through the website. If you use a search engine like Bing or Google, you would type in a search request. Now, try doing the same thing on Pinterest and see what comes up. Pinterest is my new Google.

I made an account and a board, now what? Chances out someone has blogged about your idea and shared his or her own experience. When you collect enough “pins” about your idea, start brainstorming. Maybe your idea needs a little visual inspiration. Look at the “pins” to see how you are doing to evolve your idea. If you need a process to get started, try clicking on the image you have “pinned” to read someone’s blog how he or she got started.

And as always, if you need any help you know where to find me. Leave a comment below or tweet to me on Twitter at @IamRachalT. Find and follow me on Pinterest at IamRachalT.

Leave a Reply

