Focus, Plan, Rest, and Repeat.

Ask any entrepreneur whose clock he or she is on and they will tell you, someone else’s. I thought I would have plenty of “me time” when I branched out on my own, but it has be far from the truth. I report to clients, assistants, contacts, and many more at any given time of the day. The best way to secure some time aside for rest is to make it.

An average work week consists of me working 5.5 to 6 days a week. During that time frame, I schedule time for meetings, e-mails, online relationships, in-person relationships, projects, and the list goes on. I take a half day on Sunday to rest and focus for what lies ahead. I take another half day on a slow day to catch up on other things off the to-do list.

Even with all the technology we have today, I still favor the pen and paper to focus and plan my week. On Sunday’s, I map out my week that starts like this:

20131016-181746.jpg

When I can visually see how my work week looks like, I see where I need to rest, focus, or plan. Since scheduling works best for me, I block out adequate time or me to rest in between.

Rest, to me, includes:

– Leisure Reading
– Floating on Pinterest
– Exercising
– Taking a Nap time
– Meal Prep
– Cooking/Baking
– Netflix break
– Yobe run
– Grocery Shopping
– Meditation
– Going for a Walk
– Instagram feed

After resting in the one or more of the events above, I am energized to repeat the process all over again.

How does your week look like?

Leave a Reply

