What Do You Tell People When They Ask…

ASK..

Who are you?

What do you do?

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years?

How did you find us?

Tell me a little about yourself.

There is something you need to know when a person or business asks you any of these questions. If they ask you, they probably ask everyone else the same question. Your answer is your one shot to leave a lasting impression. What you say can lead to more questions by other influences, but you got to get through the first series of questions being asked.

If you are thinking this is similar to an elevator pitch, then you are correct, my friend. With a little reasoning behind the question and responses already thought out, you are ahead of the game.

Who are you? This is the first question I get asked when I walk into a business or if I am on the phone with them. Try to talk at a slower pace than you normally do. The key here is to keep your response brief with enough explanation and clarity of your name and company you represent.

What do you do? I try to mix my response with a buzzword and industry keywords followed by a narrative. You can turn off or confuse who you are speaking with if you use too many buzzwords. It is best to use the narrative to describe your work instead of listing off your experience or what is stated on your résumé. Chances are they may know more about you than you think and might have access to this already.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years? Honesty with ambition will give you a safe conscience. Embellish too much and forget what you said might come back to hurt you. I try to be honest about where I see myself going and express my career goals that expresses progress moving forward.

How did you find us? I have had a number of prospective clients who have asked me this in a meeting. At first the question caught me off guard, but quickly realized what they were really asking. Did you research the company? Do you know the work they do? There’s a fine line between flattery and phony. Use at least one recent and previous example to express you have followed them and their work.

Tell me a little about yourself. This infamous question is pretty much all the answers from above into a three-minute formal introduction of yourself.

Now put what you just read and know about these questions into practice.

Who are you? My name is Rachal Tarquin with RT Consulting.

What do you do? I am a Marketer that help businesses thrive online through social media and community building.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years? I like helping people. I like working with businesses. My strength is working with businesses who need extra hands to carry out strategies reaching their customers. I want to be able to help other businesses find a balance between life, work, and marketing, like I have.

How did you find us? A friend had told me about the work you do here. A couple months back I heard about your project downtown. I can see now how you are holding an open house special, which is exciting to see.

Tell me a little about yourself.

Leave a Reply

