A RT Consulting first…

A RT Consulting first…

We were asked if we needed an intern.

I have to admit, at first I was off guard. Surely the college student standing in front of me was asking someone else.

This experience has allowed me to look back on the days when I was in college. I remember sending e-mails, making phone calls, and writing letters to see who was looking for an intern. Back then, it was hard as I can only imagine what it is like today. Some of the most valuable words of advice I have taken away from my internship are from some amazing professionals.

“Measure it. Make something happen and if you can measure it, then you can talk about it as experience.”

“Don’t settle for what work I assign you. Ask for more if you have the capacity.”

“Own your work. If you have a different idea than I do, tell me.”

“Stay off e-mail. If you can work without looking at it for a few minutes, stay off e-mail.”

“Communicate with me so we know if we are on the same page.”

“Learn. Learn. And be open to learn some more.”

A year later, I have become my own boss. I am an entrepreneur. I don’t have it all figured out yet, but I am still learning. I always welcome new connections and new business if it aligns with the goals I have set for my business. What more could I ask for? Maybe an intern?

Leave a Reply

