Cooking Should Be Fun

Have you ever went to the store for ingredients for dinner and when you came home you lost your recipe? The power of Google helps you search and find, but not always search and find again … hours later. I looked at the ingredients I had in my bag and in my half-empty fridge. What is something easy I can pull together to make pizza? I thought to myself. I remember melting the cheese in a saucepan the last time I made pizza, but for the life of me I could not remember what else I had to do. Instead of worrying about making dinner without a recipe, I decided to wash my hands and have at it.

I don’t know about you, but I’m always in the mood for tacos. Luckily, the ingredients are as simple as:  tomatoes, cheese, lettuce, onion, protein of choice, salsa, and whatever else that comes to mind. Instead of just having tacos on my pizza, how about a taco salad on my pizza?  And that is what I did.

Taco Salad Pizza

Ingredients:

1 – Store-bought pizza dough

1/2 cup salsa (medium chunky)

14 slices (1 serving) turkey pepperoni

Handful of mushrooms

1/2 cup shredded cheese, separated

1 – corn from the cob

Green onions, chopped to taste

Handful of tortilla salad toppings, crushed

1 medium tomato, diced

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degree F. On a floured surface, knead dough with hands as air bubbles come out. Continue kneading until desired size and press firmly about half inch to an inch to edge to create the crust. On a baking sheet layer with tin foil, spray with cooking spray and place pizza dough on sprayed foil. Layer the bottom with salsa. Add turkey pepperoni and mushrooms evenly on top. Layer 1/4 cup of shredded cheese on top of veggies. Next add corn. Sprinkle desired amount of green onions and evenly spread diced tomato. Layer the remaining 1/4 cup of shredded cheese. Place the crushed tortilla salad toppings on top for more crunch. Bake 18-20 minutes or until golden brown. Let cool. Cut into quarters because this isn’t your traditional pizza with eight slices you want to share. Enjoy!

Nutrition Facts:

Live a little or burn it off tomorrow.

2 responses

  1. It’s sad. I used to love cooking. But my father is obsessed with it and makes it a very long and drawn out process, and it drives me bonkers. I get hungry and just want to eat. So I wind up eating while we cook and then I am not hungry to eat the actual meal! Ah ha ha!. Constant problem. I like cooking 30 min meals OR LESS! lol. Although I so love the process of cooking Thanksgiving dinner!

  2. Always continue the climb. It is possible for you to do whatever you choose, if you first get to know who you are and are willing to work with a power that is greater than ourselves to do it. Ella Wheeler Wilcox

Leave a Reply

