Walk Further in Faith

For a while now I have tried to walk further in my faith and try to catch a glimpse of the “bigger” picture that lies ahead. When I couldn’t see more than two feet ahead of me, I would get discouraged. I reminded myself to keep walking further, but it sure has not been easy.

I have worked in a retail store for seven years and counting. During that time I had two internships where I gained agency and “real life” experience. I was so certain when my contracted terms were up I would been given a job, but alas nothing. I have applied to at least six corporate jobs that sparked my interest but have not landed a solid interview. My persistence gave me a voice to talk to those in management roles around me that led me to contacts. These contacts have admitted it is hard to get in, but once I am in the doors– I’m in. Instead of getting discouraged, I am encouraging others to keep learning and reaching out like I am. When people ask me what do I do, I tell them I am an “Aspiring Business to Consumer Liaison” that works for Publix and enjoys social media and making connections with people through my writing.

When my church asked me to help with creating content for my church and its social media platforms, I was ecstatic! The pastor of my church leader is a part of Every Nation Ministries that is a hub of multiple churches across the nation. As I embraced my role at Southpoint Community Church, I started to dream about working at Every Nation in a similar way. When I asked to interview someone in the non-profit sector in leadership, I immediately wanted to sit down and talk with my pastor to tell him about my dream. When I reached out to his assistant, she apologized and said he is booked for a couple of months. Did I give up? No. Instead I reached out to another pastor who graciously found time for me for an interview and to express my dreams with the church and Every Nation. He gave me a contact to reach who is in Every Nation to see what could be done. Did this get me one step closer? Not yet…

This weekend I picked up a book that I have read on and off again called “Climbing the Ladder in Stilettos” by Lynette Lewis. It was all in God’s timing to start reading it again as I found the current pages to apply to my life so perfectly! I decided to tweet some of the powerful lines from the pages that spoke to me. I have done this for the past two days because I know it could benefit others who might be reading my tweets and are in need of similar encouragement. To my surprise, I had a new e-mail in my inbox and it was from her–Mrs. Lynette Lewis herself! I immediately stopped what I was doing and read her kind words. By the end of the e-mail, I have gained a new business prospect. This is exciting news because she is an inspiration to my life. And the best part of it all is her husband runs the organization Every Nation I had mentioned earlier.

I know taking the desires of my heart and walking them out is not always going to be on a clear road to see what lies ahead of me. I know the experiences that have gotten me here will lead me further than I could ever imagine. And that makes me want to continue to walk further in my faith to see where I end up.

Stay encouraged and keep walking to see where your path may lead you…

Leave a Reply

