An empty promise

is still an empty promise. We don’t mean to hurt people by them because we say them to keep us safe from committing to something we may or may not be able to commit to. We know the other person will understand and sometime in the future, it’ll happen we’re sure of it. What if empty promises stay an empty promise that never turns into what it should have been in the first place…a promise? This is when the memory of the empty promise being made burns away at the heart of someone who truly misses the value of what it used to be.

Call me sensitive or a softy, but regardless I cannot take anymore empty promises that I make to myself or others. I cannot comprehend how others can throw them out as if they have no repercussions. In this life all we have is our word and when that goes to crap, what else is there? A friend, Jason Woodard had a friend Mike who posted:

“To be the best and grow you must surround yourself with others who care, bring a high level of passion and are of a quality to bring out the best in you. Too many people around me that don’t match that criteria. Time to better my team!!!”

I read this and couldn’t agree more. I might have a lot of people who share the same interests as me, but that’s where it stops. I am not the most social-able person who is the “life of the party,” so you can call me a wallflower, but know my heart is sincere when I write this:  I need more friends that have my back. I wish I had the courage to smile and pretend I am ok with us not seeing each other regularly or catching up for a phone call, but I would not be true to myself. I am hurt and don’t want to be bitter about it anymore.

My faith encourages me to encourage and love others, but I am drawing a line where it goes into the void and how it can be used for a greater purpose. I think I need a break from social media. I am on facebook and instead of hearing about people’s lives, I am reading about it and often feel sad I cannot be there during the happy/good times. I know it’s the way to “stay connected,” but I feel far from it.

5 responses

  1. Dear fellow blogger,
    10 years ago this week many people watched as airplanes crashed into the World Trade Center in downtown New York, the Pentagon, and a field in Pennsylvania. Hundreds of innocents perished because of the hatred of a handful of people whom they had never met before.
    Perhaps you know what it is like to suffer tragedy in your life even if you were not one of the many who lost family that day. Perhaps you feel like an airplane has crashed into your heart, and that your dreams and hopes have come crashing down. If that’s the case I do not claim to have answers for all the questions you may have. But I do know where you can find the hope you need. God can save you not only from being a victim of someone else’ hatred, but also from being a perpetrator. All people have been terrorized to some extent by those around them, and all people are guilty of terrorizing others. But God wants to both forgive you for your sins (2 Peter 3:9) and to give you a home in heaven where there will be no more pain (Revelation 21:4).
    There is much in this world that is out of our control. We can never know ahead of time if someone may try to kill us, or if we will die by some natural means. But if we trust in Jesus for salvation we can be sure that we will spend eternity with God after we die (I John 5:13). That is because Jesus has already died for our sins (Romans 5:8-9). If you accept this free gift by believing and repenting you will be saved (Acts 17:30-31). But if you reject this gift you reject the only way to escape God’s wrath (II Thessalonians 1:7). God loves you, but He also loves the people you hurt, and He will avenge them by punishing you if you are too unfeeling too admit how much you have sinned against them.
    Thanks for listening to my message. I hope that you have a peaceful week and that God will lead you to eternal peace of the soul.
    Sincerely,
    Daniel

  2. Hey Rachal…I’m sure you’ll know who this is by the end of what I have to say…
    Again, I know exactly how you feel about promises, keeping your word, letting your yes be your yes and your no be your no. I need a better team too…seems it’s hard for me to find a good team at times. And when I do find good teammates, I keep myself from getting too close. What are us loners to do lol
    If you feel a need to get away from everything, get offline for a little bit. It might help you get better connected with God (if need be) If you do that and want to keep in touch, I can give you my number…call or text whenever. If not, I’ll keep you in my prayers (but I’ll keep you in my prayers either way).

    • Thank you Matt for finding me on this blog site. Blurty was acting weird the last few times I tried updating. Often I need to step away from the computer and come back again because it connects us all (more than it should). Thanks for the kind gesture and will be sure to let you if my “break” is an extended period and will take you up on your offer. You’re amazing and are in my prayers as well for God’s will in your life and circumstances!

  3. I actually feel the same way sometimes. I am also not the life of the party and have been called too nice. However, sometimes it is fun just to hang out with friends and be included in some live events rather than seeing them on social media sites. My new years resolution is to increase my interaction in person with my family and friends. Also, to not use social media so much because I miss the human interaction. I wanted to know that I also can relate to this post.

  4. This means a lot to me because it helps to know “I’m not the only one.” I like your new year’s resolutions. I haven’t thought of one yet… I didn’t have one last year, but we’ll see as it gets closer.

Leave a Reply

